CUTR is a member of the Southeastern Transportation Center (STC), a consortium of 12 universities in the Southeastern U.S. that have formed a partnership to serve the region as the designated U.S. Department of Transportation Region IV Transportation Research Center. With a theme of transportation safety, STC is dedicated to the mission of training professionals to address the transportation needs of the region and nation in the 21st century. STC has an aggressive program of supporting students pursuing transportation degrees, and CUTR participates in that program by selecting students to participate in the STC program. Participation includes partial financial support for the students research assistantship appointment and additional funding for student travel to professional conferences and meetings. Typically, 6 to 12 students are designated as STC Fellows, and activities include traveling to the Transportation Research Board Annual Meetings, the annual STC meeting in Atlanta, and other professional meetings. An awards program, web site, resume book service, and other activities support professional development.