2014-07-25-JimSebestaJim Sebesta, current Florida Transportation Commissioner and former Florida State Senator, was honored at the 12th annual CUTR Transportation Achievement Awards event on October 22 at the Embassy Suites Tampa.

Senator Sebesta served in the Florida Senate from 1998–2006, representing District 16 (Pinellas and Hillsborough counties). During his tenure, he focused on transportation issues, serving as Senate Majority Whip and as Vice Chairman and Chairman of the Senate Transportation Committee. He also served as Vice Chair of the Energy and Transportation Committee set up by the National Conference of State Legislatures.

Senator Sebesta has been recognized by numerous organizations for his commitment to the Florida community, including the Tampa Bay Partnership, Chair’s Cup for Excellence in Regionalism; the Florida Bankers Association, Outstanding Leadership and Commitment to the State of Florida Award; AAA, Legislator of the Year; Florida Automobile Dealers Association, Legislator of the Year; and the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce Chairman’s Award.

Please click to see a complete profile.

Keynote speaker at the event was Ananth Prasad, P.E., Secretary of the Florida Department of Transportation, and special guest speaker was Paul Steinman, P.E., FDOT District 7 Secretary.