CUTR is partnering with the Women’s Transportation Society (WTS), Central Florida Chapter of Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO) and Institute of Transportation Engineers (ITE) to recognize an individual at an earlier stage in their career who is demonstrating leadership in the transportation profession with significant potential for making an impact on transportation in Florida. We hope that this award will be a suitable companion to the Hall of Fame Award, and that it will help us to celebrate the diversity within our profession and that the recipient will inspire others to achieve excellence.

2018 Awardee – Reshawn Fields

Click on image to watch video

Reshawn Fields is an AICP-certified planner with 12 years of experience in transportation consulting and community/environmental planning. Ms. Fields is becoming a transportation leader in the Tampa Bay area through her civic involvement on the City of Saint Petersburg’s Complete Streets Committee. She is on the Executive Board for the Conference of Minority Transportation Officials (COMTO)-Central Florida and Pinellas County Urban League Young Professionals, where she has coordinated multiple STEAM-related events for students across the Tampa Bay region. Ms. Fields is also on the Planning Advisory Committee for the 2019 COMTO National Meeting & Training Conference in Tampa.  Additionally, she has been involved with the Women’s Transportation Seminar, the American Planning Association, the National Association of Black Women in Construction, and the US Green Building Council. Besides her AICP, she is certified as a LEED Green Associate and an Envision Sustainability Professional from the Institute for Sustainable Infrastructure. The University of Missouri-Kansas City named Ms. Fields an Urban Planning and Design Alumni Honoree.

Ms. Fields has established a reputation in Project Development and Environment/NEPA studies for transportation projects with an emphasis on Environmental Justice analyses, Section 4(f) coordination and community outreach. She is currently a Project Manager for Atkins North America (member of the SNC-Lavalin Group) for projects that include oversight of the Federal Transit Administration’s Triennial Review Program (for FDOT District 1), feasibility studies for the SUN Trail East Coast Greenway (for FDOT District 4), and support for Project Development and Environment projects (for FDOT District 7).

Through her active career involvement, public service, and drive for personal growth, Ms. Fields has distinguished herself as an up and coming “New Voice” that will encourage and inspire young (and not-so-young) transportation professionals, particularly those of color and women. Her eagerness to lead serves as an example to empower others to grow personally and improve their communities. Ms. Fields’ sense of social justice, ethics, professionalism and self-improvement are contagious and provide future optimism for our profession.