CUTC 2021 Award

Nominated by the National Institute for Congestion Reduction (NICR), two graduate students received national student awards from the Council of University Transportation Centers (CUTC).

Zhiwei (Nicklaus) Chen received the Charley Wootan Memorial – Masters Award for his thesis “Exploring the Equity Performance of Bike-Sharing Systems with Disaggregated Data: A Story of Southern Tampa.” This thesis was mainly sponsored by CTECH and advised by Amy Stuart, Ph.D., Yu Zhang, Ph.D, and Xiaopeng “Shaw” Li, Ph.D. Chen recently passed his dissertation defense with related work.

Xiaowei (Tom) Shi received the Neville A. Parker – Science & Technology Award for his paper “Trajectory Planning for an Autonomous Vehicle with Conflict Moving Objects over a Fixed Path.” This development has been used in Dr. Li’s current NICR project on transit priority and funded by the National Science Foundation.

The students received their awards on Wednesday, January 6, 2021. Congratulations to these outstanding students!

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.